Changes

Jump to: navigation, search

User:ASDamick

145 bytes added, 21:07, December 11, 2009
no edit summary
My name is Fr. '''Andrew Stephen Damick''', and I'm an [[Antiochian Orthodox Christian Archdiocese of North America|Antiochian]] [[priest]] (a ''churchman'' or an ''ecclesiastic'' in that delightful older English mode of expression). Here on OrthodoxWiki, I'm one of the admins and the unofficial, self-anointed '''"Prove-to-Me-That-We-Need-That" Guy''' ([[User:ASDamick/Wiki-philosophy|more on that here]]).
I'm a 2007 graduate of [[St. Tikhon's Orthodox Theological Seminary (South Canaan, Pennsylvania)]] with an M.Div. degree (''summa cum laude'' with Distinction in Church History). The title of my M.Div. thesis is ''The Archbishop's Wife: Archbishop [[Aftimios Ofiesh]] of Brooklyn, the [[American Orthodox Catholic Church]], and the Founding of the [[Antiochian Orthodox Christian Archdiocese of North America|Antiochian Archdiocese]] (1880-1934)''. I graduated on [[May 26]], 2007, and I am now assigned to served St. George Orthodox Cathedral in Charleston, West Virginia, as the assistant pastor, from 2007 to 2009. In 2009, I was assigned as the pastor of St. Paul Orthodox Church in Emmaus, Pennsylvania.
I was [[ordination|ordained]] to the [[deacon|diaconate]] on [[October 30]], 2005, by Bp. [[Thomas (Joseph) of Charleston and Oakland]] ([http://www.flickr.com/photos/asdamick/sets/1260314/ photos here]). I was ordained to the holy priesthood on [[October 29]], 2006, at [http://www.allsaintsnc.org/ All Saints Orthodox Church] in Raleigh, North Carolina, by Bp. [[Antoun (Khouri) of Miami]] ([http://www.flickr.com/photos/asdamick/sets/72157594360027980/ photos here]).
I have a wide range of interests in various religious fields, especially regarding [[Orthodox Christianity]], [[Byzantine Chant]], [[:Category:Church History|Church History]], and [[:Category:Celtic and Anglo-Saxon Saints|Celtic and Anglo-Saxon Saints]]. One of my major areas of research and interest is [[Orthodoxy in America]], and I like writing articles in that area about things that I wish other people had written articles about. I'm also keenly interested in comparative religion, linguistics, etymology, English literature, and ancient languages.
I was born in Newport News, Virginia, in 1975 and currently live in CharlestonAllentown, West VirginiaPennsylvania, with my wife [[Khouria]] Nicole. Our first child, Evangelia, was born [[March 5]], 2007, and our second, Elias, was born December 6, 2009.
I'm a Southerner by birth and at heart, though I do wish there were more proper bakeries south of the Mason-Dixon Line. That's possibly one of the major things Yankees have gotten right. (They tend to do autumn fairly splendidly, too, though the Shenandoah Valley in Virginia can give 'em all a run for their money.)
interwiki, renameuser, Administrators
13,522
edits

Navigation menu